City of St. Clairsville

June 11, 2020 Council Minutes (Special Meeting)

Posted on June 16th, 2020 by

Once approved, a link to the official council minutes will be at the bottom.


June 11, 2020 Special Council Meeting

[Teleconference format in compliance with temporary changes to Ohio’s Open Meetings Act]

Jim Velas, Council President                                             Kathryn Thalman, Mayor

Perry Basile, Council, 1st Ward                                         Open, Public Service/Safety Director

Mark Bukmir, Council, 3rd Ward                                       Annette Williams, Finance Director

Terra Butler, Council, 4th Ward                                         Elizabeth Glick, Law Director

Linda Jordan, Council-At-Large                                       Don Smithberger, Super. of General Services

Beth Oprisch, Council-At-Large                                       Tom Murphy, Planning & Zoning Administrator

Frank Sabatino, Council 2nd Ward

Mike Smith, Council-At-Large

Special meeting was called to order by Council President Jim Velas at 7:30pm. President Velas led Council in the Pledge of Allegiance.


Basile              HERE                                     Oprisch           HERE

Bukmir            HERE                                     Sabatino          HERE

Butler              HERE                                     Smith               HERE

Jordan             HERE                     Seven (7) Present                        Zero (0) Absent

President Velas announced the special meeting was called to discuss two items: FOP contract negotiations and consideration for hiring a new service director – both to be discussed in executive session. Mayor Thalman stated the interested candidate for service director had withdrawn his interest just prior to the meeting.

EXECUTIVE SESSION was called by Mayor Thalman per ORC §121.22(G)(4) to discuss FOP contract negotiations. President Velas explained that residents may continue to stay on the line during the Executive Session.

A motion was made by Councilman Basile to enter Executive Session; seconded by Councilman Smith.


Basile                          YES                                        Oprisch           YES

Bukmir                        YES                                        Sabatino          YES

Butler                          YES                                        Smith               YES

Jordan                         YES

Roll Call Vote:          Seven (7) YES        Zero (0) NO             Executive Session entered 7:33pm

Councilwoman Oprisch made the motion to exit Executive Session and resume open Regular Session; seconded by Councilman Smith. Regular Session resumed at 8:45pm.

ADJOURNMENT: With no action taken and there being no further business to come before Council, Councilwoman Butler made a motion to adjourn; seconded by Councilman Basile. Meeting adjourned at 8:46pm.

Next meeting will be Monday, June 15, 2020 at 7:30pm via teleconference.

June 11, 2020 Council Minutes (Special Meeting)