City of St. Clairsville

November 3, 2021 Council Minutes Special Meeting

Posted on November 16th, 2021 by

Once approved, a link to the official council minutes will be at the bottom.


November 3, 2021 Special Meeting

Jim Velas, Council President                                             Kathryn Thalman, Mayor

Vacant, Council, 1st Ward                                                 Jeremy Greenwood, Public Service/Safety Director

Mark Bukmir, Council, 3rd Ward                                     Don Smithberger, Super. of General Services

Terra Butler, Council, 4th Ward                                        Annette Williams, Finance Director

Linda Jordan, Council-At-Large                                       Matthew Arbenz, Chief of Police

Beth Oprisch, Council-At-Large                                       Tom Murphy, Planning & Zoning Administrator

Frank Sabatino, Council 2nd Ward                                   Elizabeth Glick, Law Director

Mike Smith, Council-At-Large

The meeting was called to order by Council President Jim Velas at 7:35 pm. President Velas led Council in the Pledge of Allegiance. Members of the public were thanked for their attendance.


Bukmir            HERE                                     Oprisch            HERE

Butler              HERE                                     Sabatino          ABSENT

Jordan             HERE                                     Smith               HERE

Five (5) Present                              One (1) Absent


NEW BUSINESS Councilwoman Oprisch made a motion to appoint Donald A. Vincenzo, whom the voters elected on November 2, 2021, General Election, to be the Ward 1 City Councilman; Seconded by Councilwoman Jordan

Vote to appoint Donald A. Vincenzo as Ward 1 City Councilman


Bukmir            YES                                        Oprisch            YES

Butler              YES                                        Sabatino          ABSENT

Jordan             YES                                        Smith               YES

Roll Call Vote:    Five (5) YES    Zero (0) NO

Motion Carried



REPORTS: Mayor Kathryn Thalman No report.

Service/Safety Director Jeremy Greenwood No report.

Police Chief Matt Arbenz No report.

Finance Director Annette Williams No report.

Planning & Zoning Administrator Tom Murphy No report.


Finance Chair Mike Smith No report.

Utilities Chair Terra Butler No report.

Police Chair Beth Oprisch No report.

Streets – North Side Chair [VACANT] No report.

Streets – South Side Chair Frank Sabatino No report.

Safety Chair Frank Sabatino No report. 

Building and Grounds Chair [VACANT] No report.

Planning Commission Chair Frank Sabatino No report.

Fire Chair Frank Sabatino No report.

Recreation Chair Linda Jordan No report.

Park District Chair Linda Jordan No report.

ORDINANCES & RESOLUTIONS: Law Director Elizabeth Glick: None.

ADJOURNMENT: With no further business to come before Council, Councilwoman Butler made a motion to adjourn; seconded by Councilman Smith. Meeting adjourned at 7:45 P.M.

Next meeting will be Monday, November 15th, 2021, at 7:30 P.M. All Councilmembers will be present at the City building for the next meeting. Members of the public are welcome to join the in-person meeting in the Council Chambers, masks are required.

November 3, 2021 Council Minutes Special Meeting